Time Crunch

There’s a new poll to the right of this post called “How long does it take you to get ready?” I’m interested in seeing everyone’s responses, and why it takes you that long (or not long at all!) to get yourself ready to face the world.

I responded “30 minutes”, but it depends, naturally. If I skip blow-drying and put my hair into a ponytail, I shave off at least 15 minutes because my hair, though fine, is ridiculously thick, a recipe for aggravating, “I’m-going-to-shave-my-head” hair! If anyone has a recommendation for a great blow-dryer that can tackle thick hair, I’m all ears. Currently I use the whiplash method of flipping my head upside down to dry sections, then standing up, and flipping back upside down because my hair is mutantly resistant to drying. If I wear my hair down or partially up, requiring blow-drying first, then I have to add 15-20 minutes to my routine.

I prefer to take my time with make-up application because (a) I am naturally klutzy, and (b) I like liquid eyeliner, which takes practice and a steady hand! The entire make-up time is maybe 10 minutes, though, because I can’t stand the heavy, mask-like feel of foundation, so I just powder my face and move on to eye make-up.

How long does it take you to get ready, and how much time is devoted to make-up vs. hair? What else do you devote time to in getting ready?

3 thoughts on “Time Crunch

  1. If I take a shower the night before, it usually takes about 10 minutes to do make-up, if I’m going to wear it that day. Moisturizer, brush on mineral make-up, mascara, listick, ready to go!By the way-I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE mineral make-up! Super easy, super light, built-in sunscreen. I use Physician’s Formula Mineral Wear.My hair is growing out, so either wet or dry, I just put it all up in a clippie.

I love comments! Share your feedback, questions, and other observations here.

