Urban Decay Eye Shadow Primer Potion

Maybe you have to endure crazy-oily skin too, to fully appreciate this product: Urban Decay Eye Shadow Primer Potion. I resisted trying this product because (a) it costs $16, and (b) so many other products claimed to keep eye shadow from creasing on oily skin but failed miserably. After reading almost universal rave reviews about this particular product, though, I decided to test drive it.

I’m on my 3rd bottle of this stuff. I am extremely impressed with it. If you have oily skin, then you know the ugly, greasy streaks your eyeshadow ends up glopping into after just a few hours, especially in the crease of the eyelid. It is impossible for me to wear eye shadow because of this; I know someday I will be grateful for my oily skin, as it’s very resistant to wrinkles, but for now, “thankful” is not exactly the word I would choose!

I ordered my first bottle of this eye shadow primer from Sephora almost 2 years ago and have been a die-hard fan ever since. A little goes a long way, so although one bottle is $16, I can make one bottle last about 6 months. A very thin layer is all you need, and be sure to apply it evenly and gently pat out any streaks or lines, because once it dries, this stuff is set for the rest of the day.

Be forewarned, also, that the eye shadow color will be intensified with the primer underneath, so start lighter than usual with eye shadow until you get used to it.

I make sure I apply the primer to the crease of my eyelids, since that’s where my shadow likes to gunk up. I’ve fallen asleep without washing my make-up off (I know, a big no-no) and have woken up with my eye shadow still intact if I used this primer. It’s not fail-proof, naturally, and if I wear dark eye shadows, I still see some creasing by the end of the day, but not nearly as much as without the primer.

And hey…the bottle is cool!

2 thoughts on “Urban Decay Eye Shadow Primer Potion

I love comments! Share your feedback, questions, and other observations here.

