Best Perfumes: High End and Economy

Hands down, my favorite perfume ever is Coco Mademoiselle. It’s an oriental fragrance but not suffocating like Poison or Opium. It’s sexy without being overwhelming…sophisticated and elegant. Keep a light hand, as it can be strong if you use too much. And with a price tag of $95 for 0.25 ounces, you won’t want to waste it! But the scent lasts forever and makes it worth the money if you can afford to splurge.

Not all pretty fragrances require small loans, however. If you can get past the disappointing, 80’s sounding name, Prince Matchabelli New Musk Cologne Spray goes for about $10 ($9 on the Amazon. com link above, or else it is easily found in Walgreens or CVS), then this cologne might deliver for you. I don’t remember how or why I ever tested this fragrance, since I hate the word “musk” (it reminds me of deer, what can I say, I grew up in hunting country), and I can’t stand the smell of any musk perfumes or colognes. This is more of a gentle, pretty floral, also a scent family I don’t usually like, but I get a lot of compliments when I wear this. I was also pleasantly surprised at its staying power. This fragrance sticks around in a soft way.

What are your favorite perfumes or fragrances at both price points (splurge and economy)?

5 thoughts on “Best Perfumes: High End and Economy

  1. If I had money, my fave would be Happy by Clinique, I love the clean citrusy smell. Since I’m not in a position to afford Happy that often, I have recently fallen in love with Avon’s A Wish of Happiness, also a clean citrusy scent. I can’t stand anything with musk in it-I always read the label to make sure. Most perfumes give me a migraine, so I have to be very choosy!

  2. Musk is just not a pleasant scent! If there’s any in the New Musk cologne, I honestly don’t smell it. If perfume gives you a headache, Coco Mademoiselle is definitely not for you! It can be a bit strong.

  3. I’m loving Cannabis Santal by Fresh. It’s $75 a bottle and is technically a man’s scent, but I don’t care. I like the layers of scent–its chocolaty, musky, fresh, completely hard to define!I also like Dune and Happy. Happy is so floral though…its reserved for summer only!

  4. ack I hate “musk” smells too. My perfume collection is as bipolar as I am. It goes from Burberry Touch to Clinique Happy to D&G Light Blue. It really depends on my mood and where I’m going, etc. Plus I have like 4 main lotions/sprays from Bath & Body Works that I use too. Have you guys smelled Prada’s first perfume? I got it for Christmas a few years ago and I wanted to like it so much but man, I cant stand it. 😦

I love comments! Share your feedback, questions, and other observations here.

