e.l.f. Plumping Lip Glaze

My mom’s Mother’s Day gift arrived yesterday, and lo and behold, there was a little something extra in the box for me…how could I resist trying out e.l.f.’s Plumping Lip Glaze, when it runs for merely a dollar?

I bought the Lip Glaze in Baby Doll (the shade to the left). My first reaction: “plumping”? This word conjures up images of tender roasted chicken breasts for me, not something I want to associate with my lips. Second, the puffy, fish-lip fascination has escaped me. Desiring to appear as if someone has just socked you dead in the mouth still seems bizarre to me.

Fear not, though, because although the clear coat you put on first will make your lips tingle and feel mildly electrified, no tender-roasted-chicken or fish-lip effect will be rendered, thankfully. As said, I never hopped onto the fat lips trend, so this is not a drawback for me about this lipgloss. (As an aside, I’ve read magazines that describe this trend as the “bee-stung look”. Ladies…insect venom is not attractive. Can we stop with it already?)

The gloss color is very sheer, so don’t expect the color to look just like it does in the bottle. For a dollar, I am very pleased with this lipgloss. The texture is not sticky and gross like some glosses, there’s a subtle shine instead of that slick, greasy look, and it actually has some staying power (I drank a cup of tea this morning and still had gloss left on my lips).

The e.l.f. website (www.eyeslipsface.com) has 76 reviews of this product, so don’t just take my word for it. Bottom line, for a dollar, this gloss has a nice, subtle shine and color, a tingly feel, and comes in several pretty colors. If you’re seeking that infected, puffy-lipped look, however…keep shopping.

2 thoughts on “e.l.f. Plumping Lip Glaze

I love comments! Share your feedback, questions, and other observations here.

