Drugstore Beauty

Great products with great results don’t need to cost a fortune. The Make-Up Diva lists her favorite drugstore cosmetics in this article: Save Money on Make-Up: Review of Inexpensive Drugstore Cosmetics.

She comments, “When most women think drugstore mascara, they think Maybelline Great Lash; it has been touted for years as a favorite in the business, named countless times as magazine beauty editors’ favorite, but I honestly have no idea why.” I heartily agree. I have never found the allure of this particular product, and in fact, it’s one of my most avoided products.

I also agree with her choice of Max Factor 2000 Calorie mascara, even though as a rule, I do not like Max Factor. (Maybe it’s the ultra-cheesy advertisements featuring Carmen “Striptease Cardio” Electra in loud neon make-up and abusively bleached hair…) This mascara runs about $5 and although not my favorite mascara, does a good job for the price.

The Make-Up Diva lists Olay as one of her top picks for skin care, and Olay is the only moisturizer I’ve used for years. (By the way, click here to check out Olay’s current offerings of samples and coupons.)

The biggest downside to buying make-up at drugstores is the lack of testers. I always save my receipt and am not timid about returning a product if I just don’t like it. I don’t know how anyone can be expected to select make-up without testers.

What are some of your favorite drugstore brands and products?

3 thoughts on “Drugstore Beauty

  1. CG Cover girl does it’s job for me, for neutral e/s! Also Maybelline mascara…the light blue tube (sorry forgot the name) I love drugstore brands!that works of course!

  2. I love love love Maybelline and Olay. Never tried anything from Max Factor. I’m definitely a CoverGirl girl and I adore St. Ives!

I love comments! Share your feedback, questions, and other observations here.

