Eyelash Curler 101

One of the most effective beauty tools is also the strangest (and scariest) looking of them all! An eyelash curler can make a big difference in your look. It can also leave you lash-less if you don’t know what you’re doing, so to the rescue is LovetoKnow.com with this article: Hows and Whys of Eyelash Curlers.

The basics: “To use, gently place the curler over your eye and at the base of the lashes. Your lashes will rest between two sets of pads. Squeeze, being careful not to catch your skin. Hold briefly, then release. You may find it easier to go in sections, rather than curl all your lashes at once. Don’t try curling your bottom lashes, as they are too short and you run the risk of pinching your lid….you must not apply mascara before using a non-heated curler, as this can damage your lashes.”

I frequently curl my lashes after the mascara has dried, and I have never had a problem with my lashes sticking to the curler. I find that I get a more dramatic curl if I curl after mascara has dried, rather than before I apply mascara. I live dangerously.

How to care for your curler? “A well-made eyelash curler should last as long as you wish to keep using it. Many are strong enough to withstand being carried in a handbag all day. As with any beauty product, though, and especially one that goes near the eyes, a little extra care goes a long way. The pads, which are most commonly made of silicone, must be changed at least every two months. This is not only for hygienic reasons, but a worn pad can damage your eyelashes. Be your own best judge if you’re using the curler regularly and inspect the pads before each use. It’s best to store your eyelash curler in a closed container to keep it clean, but a quick wash or wipe before use is still a good idea.”

I agree; I wipe my curler before and after each use, but I’m particular like that. A worn pad will snag your lashes and pull, especially the rubber type (I prefer silicone).

Another tip I read over and over was to give a metal curler a quick shot from the blowdryer (at most 5 seconds) to heat it up for better curl, but of course be careful the curler is not downright hot before you raise it to your eyes.

2 thoughts on “Eyelash Curler 101

  1. I adore my eyelash curler. I never thought of hitting it with my blowdryer first. Thanks for the great idea. Sephora has a heated eyelash culer that scares the crap out of me.

I love comments! Share your feedback, questions, and other observations here.