Hair Loss

With all the hair strands I am constantly pulling off my clothes and sweeping up from the bathroom floor, I am astounded that I am not completely bald yet. Ever wonder what normal hair loss is? I wondered, so I checked out Healthscout.com. Shedding 50 to 100 hairs per day is actually normal. At any given time, about 90% of the hair on your scalp is growing, a phase that lasts between 2 and 6 years. The remaining 10% of your hair is in a resting phase that lasts between 2 and 3 months before that hair sheds.

A sudden increase in shedding can be caused by stress, medication, surgery, fever, inadequate protein, and even birth control pills. Read the full article to find out how these factors influence hair loss, and what to do if you think your hair loss is excessive.

I love comments! Share your feedback, questions, and other observations here.

