Too Faced vs. Urban Decay

Calling all eye shadow primer users: I need some opinions! I am on the last of my L’Oreal De-Crease eye shadow primer, and although this product has acceptable results, I still occasionally have some creasing by the end of the day. After taking the extra step to use an eye shadow base, I’d really prefer to see NO creasing!

I have also tried Urban Decay’s iconic Eyeshadow Primer Potion, but like many users, I have gripes about the bottle and not being able to get all of the product from it. For $16 for basically eye shadow spackle, I’d appreciate full usage of what is in the bottle.

One I have heard of but never tried is Too Faced Shadow Insurance ($17 on Sephora.com). Do any of you use this? What are your thoughts on it? How does it compare to Urban Decay’s primer? If you have $20 to blow at Sephora, which eye shadow primer would you choose?

5 thoughts on “Too Faced vs. Urban Decay

  1. I have used both and found results with both. After my UDPP, I purchased the Shadow Insurance and found that it works just as well as UDPP–not better, not worse. When I run out I will learn towards purchasing Shadow Insurance again just because of the packaging. 🙂

  2. It’s so funny that you’re posting about this because I have a free sample of Too-Faced which I have been using this week. I am not an experienced primer-user, but here is the proof about how good Too-Faced is:Friday night, I went out with friends. I drank a liiiitle too much and ended up staying the night (no washing face – ick!) and woke up the next morning to drive home. I got back, looked in the mirror and my eyeshadow looked like it did the night before. I really, really like the Too-Faced. I am kicking myself though because I BOUGHT the Urban Decay one before reading about the bottle. They are both good potions but if you want ALL the goop at the bottom, then go with Too-Faced.Hope this helps!xoxo

  3. I haven’t used Too Faced primer but I saw this < HREF="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Khua9rC9ZiA" REL="nofollow">video<> on you tube comparing these two. And if you plan on buying the Urban Decay Potion Primer, here’s another < HREF="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zen9pM8Sxpc" REL="nofollow">video<> to “empty out” the genie bottle. 🙂Hope this helps!

I love comments! Share your feedback, questions, and other observations here.

