ChapStick True Shimmer

Lipstick and lipgloss are nice…in theory. If the number of barely-used lipstick tubes in my bathroom stash are any indication, I can fall in love with a color then never feel like taking the time to fuss with reapplying, making sure it’s not on my teeth, ensuring it’s applied evenly, or hell, even with taking out a mirror in the first place. For a make-up junkie, I really don’t like a lot of fuss with any particular product.

So when I saw the new ChapStick True Shimmer, I decided to try it out. Technically it’s not breaking my no-make-up-buying rule (which became necessary due to the ridiculous amount of product and my tendency to not really use it anyway), since I left my Blistex in the car and it melted into a gross blob and needed to be replaced.

What is it? It’s old-fashioned, traditional ChapStick with just the faintest amount of shimmer and a touch of flavor and scent. No color, no tint, no gloss, very subtle. It runs about $2.50 (I grabbed mine at Walmart).

I’ll give it 4 stars out of 5. It’s not a wildly spectacular product, but it does exactly what it is supposed to do: moisturize your lips with just a bit of shimmer as promised. I didn’t give it 5 stars because Bonne Belle Lipsmackers does the same thing at a bit cheaper price. There’s nothing about the ChapStick version that warrants a higher price, though $2.50 is still pretty damn cheap.

I love a nice fuschia lipstick or a mauve lipgloss, but I really won’t fuss with anything that requires the use of a mirror or an applicator or definitely not a lip brush. Especially not as frequently as lipstick or lipgloss needs to be reapplied (after eating, drinking, etc.) So to keep my lips soft, non-chapped, and to add just a touch of shimmer, this fits the bill just fine, no fuss, no bother.

One thought on “ChapStick True Shimmer

I love comments! Share your feedback, questions, and other observations here.

