Review: John Frieda Luxurious Volume

A few weeks ago, I posted about the samples of John Frieda Luxurious Volume shampoo and conditioner I had received, and I promised a product review after I had a chance to test drive them for a few more days.

John Frieda’s website promises that this product delivers 110% more fulness; 50% more thickness; and 90% more lift.

I emptied the samples and was disappointed, because I love this shampoo and conditioner. I have fine hair that tangles easily, and finding the right balance in a conditioner (strong enough to make my hair soft, but not so heavy it weighs it down and makes it limp) is quite a challenge. I tried this shampoo and conditioner together for about 3 days, since the samples are pretty small.

The Luxurious Volume conditioner is, in a word, awesome. I didn’t expect to see much difference after one use, but I noticed right away that my hair felt lighter, and actually did seem fuller. Now, did my hair reach the skyscraper volume of the model in the ads? Of course not. But I was able to get a comb through it without wrestling, crying, or swearing, which is always a significant improvement, and my hair didn’t have weighed-down, heavy feeling a lot of conditioners leave in it. My hair looked and felt fuller than usual.

I give the Luxurious Volume shampoo and conditioner 5 stars, and I will definitely be buying these products when my current shampoo and conditioner are empty. The price of these items are about $5.99 each, and Walmart and Target should be carrying them by now. You can also find them on drugstore.com and Ulta.com.

5 thoughts on “Review: John Frieda Luxurious Volume

  1. dang it….I keep forgetting you have this blog too! Strange since I’m a total product whore LOL My daughter’s hair is very similar to how you describe yours so I am going to give this stuff a try on her hair to see if we can minimize the “wrestling, crying or swearing” when I try to comb thru her hair! 🙂 Ok, she does the wrestling and crying and its mostly me doing the swearing hahaha …though I suspect there is some swearing going on that I do not hear out loud LOL 😉Thanks for the info! 🙂

  2. I’m not sure if it’s color-safe. The product doesn’t specifically claim to be color-safe. I haven’t noticed any difference in my hair color whether I use shampoo for colored hair or just regular shampoo, to be honest.

I love comments! Share your feedback, questions, and other observations here.

