NYC Color Wheel Mosaic Eye Powder

Yet another impulse buy, but unlike most impulse buys, this is one I was actually glad I bought. I’ve seen NYC’s Color Wheel Mosaic Eye Powder in stores, and I’ve read great reviews about it, so when I was deliberating my next frivolous cosmetics purchase in the Wal-mart make-up aisles, I grabbed the Color Wheel in Beyond the Sea (colors below):


The first challenge with this product is how to apply it, as each individual color is rather tiny, and the eye shadow does not come with an applicator. I bought a small pack of disposable eye shadow applicators and was on my way.

One pet peeve I have with eye shadow sets is that I typically like a handful of colors in the set and would never dream of touching the rest of the odd, not-for-me colors in the palette. However, I like all of the colors in the Beyond the Sea color set, from a shimmery light brown to a deep brown to a pale aqua. My favorite is the shimmery brown, but the aqua looks great with a bold, black liquid eyeliner to offset its light color.

For a whopping $3.99, this is a great product. The eye shadow colors stay true and apply smoothly. The shimmery colors are not cheap glitter and don’t shed glitter all over your face like some other sparkly shadows I have tried. They’re just the right touch of dazzle for your eyes, but still subtle and classy.

I have yet to be disappointed by NYC’s cosmetics, and I wish stores around here carried a more extensive selection of their items. I’m a fan of their lipsticks especially, which I’ve reviewed here: NYC Ultra Moist Lipwear.

The Color Wheels come in 5 color options:

Brown Sugar
Beyond the Sea
Pink Cadillac
Brown Eyed Girl
Purple Rain

My only complaint is the lack of an applicator that can remain with the eye shadow case. For such a low price, I can deal with it, but I wonder why an applicator isn’t part of the price.

One thought on “NYC Color Wheel Mosaic Eye Powder

I love comments! Share your feedback, questions, and other observations here.

