Rimmel Sexy Curves Mascara

Recently I clipped a coupon from All You magazine for a free tube of Rimmel Sexy Curves mascara, and being the mascara junkie that I am, I wasted no time picking it up to give it a try.

The very wordy product description promises “Triple Plump brush with 3 x the curves for 70% curlier lashes. Voluptuous brush with CurveControl technology wiggles easily through your lashes quickly coating them. Exclusive brush design curves IN to maximize lash loading, curves OUT to curl and de-clump each lash for a complete curved look. Lashes look lusciously curled, plumped and defined. Plump ’em up! Enriched with proteins, the plumping formula strengthens lashes over time for a continuous lash boosting effect. Rich cream texture instantly amplifies your natural volume x 7 and fixes the curl for 12 hour hold. Fabulously fuller lashes.”

Hmmm. I have tried Rimmel mascaras before and was thoroughly disappointed. I wouldn’t have tried this one if it wasn’t free.

I have worn this mascara for about a week and have drawn my conclusion:

*shrug*

Ho-hum.

It’s not a bad mascara, and it doesn’t flake, which is a huge plus, since flaking is incredibly annoying. But beyond that, it just doesn’t do much. I hate the brush and have to wonder about the quality of the mascara itself when the brush has to be bizarre and odd to distract you. The curves in the brush make it hard to apply evenly. I have to apply my make-up when I am barely awake yet, so if it requires a trick or tip to apply properly, then it’s too damn convoluted for me.

Out of 5 stars, I would give this a 2.5. It’s just sort of okay, nothing great, but not terrible either. I would not buy it again, as there are definitely mascaras out there with more ooomph than this one, like Avon’s SuperShock or Maybelline’s Define-a-Lash.

2 thoughts on “Rimmel Sexy Curves Mascara

I love comments! Share your feedback, questions, and other observations here.

