Cheap Eyeshadow Base: Concealer

I’ve been a loyal fan of Urban Decay’s Eyeshadow Primer Potion, and I’ve used L’Oreal’s De-Crease Eyeshadow Base in a pinch. With skin as oily as mine, it is impossible to wear eyeshadow without some sort of base or primer to keep it from settling into ugly lines in the creases.

When my last bottle of primer ran out, I wondered how necessary it really is to spend $15 or more on a primer. So I decided to experiment.

I bought a bottle of Wet n Wild’s Cover All Liquid Concealer Wand for a dollar or two, and I apply a thin coat of that to my eyelids, let it dry, and pat pressed powder over that before applying eyeshadow. I didn’t expect it to work, but it surprised me: it’s not 100% effective, and by the end of the day I may see creases starting to appear, but that happened even with Urban Decay’s primer, which costs at least $15.

I have read websites warning women not to use concealer as an eyeshadow base, but I have yet to read a valid reason why not. It works great for me, even with a cheap concealer. Just be sure to use a light hand and not gob on the concealer, and make sure you follow up with a dusting of powder.

Has anyone else tried this? What are your opinions?

One thought on “Cheap Eyeshadow Base: Concealer

  1. i say if it works go ahead… so many of my customer dont wanna use a base AND a concealor …. so i even tell them to just buy the concealor and use it as both!

I love comments! Share your feedback, questions, and other observations here.

