Burt’s Bees Shea Butter Hand Repair Creme

I am a bit of a hand cream fanatic; I keep at least 3 different kinds in my desk drawer at work, keep hand cream in the bag I carry to work, and keep a stash in the bathroom and at the kitchen sink at home too. What can I say? I can’t stand the feeling of dry hands.

I was excited to see Burt’s Bees Shea Butter Hand Repair Creme at a great price recently, so I bought a tube to keep at work. I’ve read glowing reviews of Burt’s Bees products, though I have only tried their lip balms (didn’t like them). But surely you can’t screw up hand cream, right?

My first impression of this hand cream is that I was certainly going to develop ripped forearms trying to squeeze the cream out of the tube. It’s very thick and may as well come in slices. My second impression was that you will become very intimate with every inch of your hands, as it takes forever to rub, rub, rub this cream in, and it still has a persistent oily feel even after you’ve rubbed your hands raw.

My third impression, after exhausting my hands trying to rub this stuff into my skin, is that the smell is horribly unpleasant. I imagine it is intended to be a natural, organic scent to go with the reputation of the company, but it reminds me of pesticide, citronella, medicine, and dandelions…no, not a compliment.

I give this product zero stars out of 5. Its regular price is about $12 a tube, and for a hand cream, that is in a price range that should be far more effective, pleasant smelling, and non-greasy. My favorite hand cream is still Avon’s Silicone Glove, which I have reviewed before. With mini tubes starting at 99 cents, a great scent, and lasting softness, it kicks Burt’s Bees ass in the hand cream department.

2 thoughts on “Burt’s Bees Shea Butter Hand Repair Creme

I love comments! Share your feedback, questions, and other observations here.

