Avon Spectra Lash Mascara

Avon recently had several mascaras on sale, 2 for $7.99. Since Spectra Lash’s regular price is $9.50, I decided to try this one out while the price was right.

This mascara has a dial at the bottom, ranging from 1 to 3, so “you can customize your lashes to build volume for any occasion or mood. More volume. More options”, per Avon’s website.

I remember Maybelline’s Dial-A-Lash, and this seemed to be the same premise. For nostalgia’s sake, I had to try it!

I wound this baby up to level 3 for its first test run. I noticed right away that the brush is super-saturated with mascara at this level…not a good sign. I don’t like simply coating my lashes with caked-on mascara. It will get you noticed, but not in a good way.

I noticed a lot of flakes as I curled and combed out my lashes, another not-so-good sign, and the black flakes continued to rain down during the rest of the morning. Hmmmm.

Let’s try reducing the dial to 1 and see if that works out better. The brush wasn’t quite as loaded with mascara, but I still noticed the same clumping and flaking.

The sad thing is, this mascara did a good job defining and volumizing my lashes. But considering the sole function of mascara is to make my lashes look good, I can’t stand the flaking and clumping that this mascara brought along for the ride.

My verdict? One star out of 5. The concept of a dial to control the intensity is fun, and the price is great, especially if you catch it on sale. The mascara defines the lashes no problem…but it’s not worth the continuous, tiny black flecks under my eyes or the trouble of separating the clumps from the brush being overloaded.

I won’t buy this mascara again, but something good did come of my purchase. The mascaras were on sale, 2 for $7.99, and the other mascara I selected was Supershock mascara. This one impressed me and more than made up for Spectra Lash, and I will write a review of that one very soon!

2 thoughts on “Avon Spectra Lash Mascara

  1. i kinda was afraid this might happen when i first saw an ad for this… i said to myself – i wonder if it anywhere as good as they are making it out to be! happy friday!

I love comments! Share your feedback, questions, and other observations here.

