Avon Planet Spa Mediterranean Olive Oil Conditioning Hair Mask

My quest for the perfect hair conditioner continues! Since Avon rudely discontinued their Planet Spa African Shea Butter hair mask, I decided to give their Meditteranean Olive Oil Conditioning Hair Mask a try.

The product claim: “Pro-vitamin formula provides ultra-conditioning for a healthy-looking shine.” Out of 57 reviews of this conditioner on Avon’s website, 54 would recommend it to a friend.

I’ve tried this a couple times and wasn’t terribly impressed at first. Partly that is due to the grudge I still hold against Avon for discontinuing the African Shea Butter conditioner, which smelled heavenly and made my hair remarkably soft. I also have a tendency to just wear my hair in a ponytail since I’m trying to protect it from blowdrying so much, but today after using this conditioner I wore my hair down and actually saw the results of the conditioner.

My hair was easy to comb after I rinsed this out, and I pulled back the sides of my hair while it was still damp but left the rest down. After it dried by itself, I combed it to smooth it out, and I noticed right away that my hair is shinier than usual. I didn’t use any product in my hair, so it has to be from using this conditioner.

My hair is fine, and I was worried that the olive oil would weigh my hair down or make it feel greasy. This conditioner rinsed out cleanly and made my hair soft without weighing it down or leaving a residue.

Still, as far as a deep conditioner goes, this one is fine but not amazing. My favorite is still Garnier Fructis Sleek and Shine Fortifying Deep Conditioner 3 Minute Masque. (By the way, what is with these ridiculously long product names?)

I give Avon’s Mediterranean Olive Oil conditioner 3 stars out of 5. It definitely makes my hair shinier, has a pleasant smell, and is a great deal at $4.50 a bottle. I really don’t know if I will buy it again, though, once mine is empty. I strongly prefer the African Shea Butter conditioner that Avon felt the need to stop selling (damn you, Avon!). The Olive Oil conditioner simply feels more like an everyday light conditioner, not a deep, replenishing conditioner.

One thought on “Avon Planet Spa Mediterranean Olive Oil Conditioning Hair Mask

I love comments! Share your feedback, questions, and other observations here.

