Benefit They’re Real Mascara

Thanks to a Sephora recently and finally opening in my area, I have been able to expand the brands that I test and review.  I picked up Benefit’s They’re Real mascara based on these marketing claims:

What it does:


Research results:
-94% saw dramatic length and volume*
-90% saw base-to-tip curl*
-94% saw visible lift*
-100% saw long-wearing results*

This mascara features an exclusive brush specially designed to maximize the performance of the long-wearing, glossy formula revealing lashes you never knew you had! Staggered bristles grab close to the root, boosting length and volume beyond belief. The precision bristles on the custom-domed tip lift, define, and curl even your tiniest lashes. The end result is luxurious, silky lashes that won’t smudge, clump, or dry out.

From Sephora.com


The first time I tried this mascara, I swore I had to have applied it incorrectly.  How else to explain the Super-Glue stickiness, clumps, and overall unattractive results?  So the next time I tried it, I tissued off some of the mascara from the brush for a lighter application.  Same gloppy, sticky results, no matter how many times I tried applying it or how differently I applied it.


I shouldn’t have been surprised, since I thoroughly loathed another mascara by Benefit, BADgal Lash Mascara.  It seems to me that Benefit has the real possibility of putting Super Glue and Gorilla Glue out of business with their sticky messes, but have no idea how to make a decent mascara.


My summary: zero stars out of five.  I hated this product and found no redeeming qualities about it at all.


Needless to say, I returned this mess of a mascara and got a refund to hopefully try out something better!


I love comments! Share your feedback, questions, and other observations here.

